Our collaborating artists

At MERAKI, we’re continually impressed and inspired by local talent, whether illustrators, photographers or artists. We’re always looking for the best—our favourites—to collaborate with them on a project (or two, or three…)

For limitless inspiration, we present some unique looks.

To discover. To embrace. And to apply to your wall.

 

Catherine Lavoie

 

Catherine Lavoie is an artist, illustrator and designer from Québec City. With a background in Visual Arts, she decided to quit her job as a designer a few years ago to completely focus on creating refined, gracious and colourful illustrations.

Curious and passionate, she constantly experiments and draws inspiration from everything around her: graphic design, daily life, travels and so much more. Oftentimes, it is the arrangement of colours that catch her eye—or the elegant shape of a vase or the fascinating texture of an object in her environment.

Her work stands out for its simplicity, minimalism, attention to detail, balance and colour. Catherine is an exuberant artist who loves to add a touch of humour to her drawings. In fact, all of her works resemble her vibrant personality: colourful, bold, simple, elegant, friendly and down-to-earth.

You can follow her on Instagram or visit her website to learn more about her work.

Discover her MERAKI creations

 

Éléna Comte
 


 
Éléna is a Canadian illustrator who lives in Amsterdam (Netherlands) with her husband and two daughters. She likes to bring out the texture of gouache and colored pencils in her illustrations. Her intention is that her work comes across as happy and comforting for the viewer. Her color palettes are rich in peachy pink, golden yellow and peacock green. As often as possible,she tries to create designs that appeal to both girls and boys.

For this collection of wallpapers and wall decals, Elena was inspired by the bohemian trends of children's bedroom decor. She imagines her creations on the walls of minimalist rooms, along natural wood textures and textile fibers.

To learn more about her work, visit her website follow her on Instagram.

 

Discover her MERAKI creations

photo credit : Éléna Comte

Marie-France Auger

 


A lover of patterns with a child’s heart (even after turning 40!) Marie-France’s imagination is quite simply overflowing! Her favourite playground? Designing textile patterns for interior decoration and children’s clothing, two areas of which she is particularly fond and that have enabled her to express herself for over 15 years.

She enjoys creating playful and colourful graphic universes, but she admits that she has a weakness for the black and white. She is curious and enthusiastic, and feels most in her element when she works collaboratively, where her creativity can nourish different visions and approaches.

Visit her Instagram or her website to see more projects.

Discover her MERAKI creations

 

Marie-Lise Leclerc
 

 
 

Marie-Lise is passionate about illustration, which is for her an accessible art that greatly contributes to living in a more inspiring world.

Her heart swings between children’s illustration and botanical illustration, but she often manages to marry the two to create soft and enchanting universes.

Follow her on Instagram for beauty each day.

Discover her MERAKI creations

 

Marish Papaya

 

Marish loves life and loves people, and knows how to reveal true beauty! She’s a human artist with a big heart, and her unique sensibility enables her to capture the extraordinary from the ordinary, perfection from imperfection, and the amusing from the mundane.
 
She’s a portrait specialist, and we feel special through her eyes! Her art celebrates uniqueness and diversity, she knows how to channel a face, a cat, a bike, or a pair of underwear! We love the second degree of her creations, when she’s added her touch of humour and a bit of thought. In short, we’re pleased and proud to collaborate with this favourite artist!
 
Her Instagram is full of beautiful portraits, go visit her.

 

MATEL
 

MATEL
 

 

Matel gets his inspiration from the banality of the everyday life, people, nature, etc…

The result always flirts with caricature.

Evolving in a goofy universe, his characters take all kind of shapes and expressions while having their own specific meaning.

Snowboarding and skateboarding have had a major influence on his awakening to the world of art and design. Most of his time is spent painting, doing murals, drawing and working on illustrations for clients of different environments .

In the past years he has done illustrations for; Yes snowboards (Switzerland), Rome snowboards (USA), DevGru snowboards (Japan), Fairmont Château Frontenac (Canada), Spy Optics (USA), Vans (USA), De Stefani Winery (CAN) and more.

To know more about Matel’s art, take a look at his Instagram of his Facebook page.

Discover his MERAKI creations

 

Muya

 

 

Myriam Rousseau, working as an illustrator under the alias Muya, is from the province of Quebec. She left her native Canada to study Fine Arts in Spain and she currently lives in Argentina with her family.

A lifelong lover of sketchbooks and Hispanic culture, she managed to combine her two passions by exploring several artistic fields in different Latin cities.

She experienced the cartoon film industry by joining an animation studio, worked as an editorial graphist for a history magazine, collaborated with a contemporary gallery on several street art exhibitions, tattooed her botanical inspired images under the supervisor of her mentor and more recently invented her own personalized textile prints.

This rich career has nourished her style; and today she lives from her illustrations work which is inspired by Art Nouveau, encyclopedic engravings, old school tattoos, vintage children’s books, retro fashion advertisements, but also… by the overflowing imagination of her six-year-old daughter!

You can follow her work on Instagram.

Discover her MERAKI creations

Nos artistes collaborateurs

Chez MERAKI on est sans cesse impressionnées et inspirées par les talents d’ici. Illustrateurs.trices, photographes, artistes : on est toujours à l’affût des meilleur.e.s – nos coups de cœur – pour collaborer avec eux le temps d’un projet (ou deux, ou trois…).

Pour de l’inspiration sans frontière, on vous présente quelques regards uniques.

À découvrir. À adopter. Et à appliquer au mur. 

 

Catherine Lavoie

 

Catherine Lavoie est une illustratrice et designer de la ville de Québec. Forte d’une solide formation en Arts Visuels, elle décide, il y a quelques années, de quitter son emploi de designer pour se consacrer entièrement à la création d’illustrations épurées, gracieuses et colorées.

Curieuse et passionnée, elle expérimente constamment et trouve l’inspiration partout autour d’elle : le graphisme, la vie quotidienne, les vacances… Souvent, c’est un accord de couleurs qui accroche son oeil… Ou la forme élégante d’un vase, ou encore la texture fascinante d’un objet de son environnement.

Son travail se démarque d’ailleurs par sa simplicité, son minimalisme, son attention au détail, son équilibre et sa couleur. La pétillante artiste ajoute également à l’occasion une touche d’humour à ses dessins. Au final, les illustrations de Catherine sont toutes à son image : colorées, éclatées, simples, élégantes, sympathiques et sans prétention.

Vous pouvez suivre son travail sur Instagram ou visiter son site internet pour en découvrir davantage sur sa pratique.

Découvrez ses créations MERAKI

 

Éléna Comte



Éléna est une illustratrice québécoise qui vit à Amsterdam aux Pays-Bas avec son mari et ses deux filles. Elle aime mettre la texture de la gouache et des crayons de bois en valeur dans ses illustrations. Elle tient particulièrement à ce que ses œuvres soient perçues comme joyeuses et réconfortantes par ceux qui les regardent. Ses palettes de couleurs sont riches de rose pêche, de jaune doré et de vert paon. Le plus souvent possible, elle essaie de créer des designs qui plaisent autant aux filles qu’aux garçons.

Pour cette collection de papiers peints et autocollants muraux, Éléna s’est inspirée des tendances bohèmes des décors de chambre pour enfants. Elle imagine ses créations sur les murs de chambres minimalistes, avec des objets décos ayant des textures naturelles de bois ou des fibres textiles naturelles.

Pour en connaître plus sur son travail, visitez son site internet ou suivez-la sur Instragram

crédit photo : Éléna Comte

 

Marie-France Auger

Passionnée des motifs avec un vrai cœur d'enfant (même passé 40 ans!), l'imaginaire de Marie-France est tout simplement débordant! Ses terrains de jeu préférés? La conception de motifs textiles pour la décoration intérieure et les vêtements pour enfants, deux milieux qu'elle affectionne particulièrement et qui lui permettent de s'exprimer depuis plus de 15 ans.

Elle aime créer des univers graphiques ludiques et colorés, mais elle avoue avoir aussi un petit faible pour le noir et blanc. Curieuse et enthousiaste, c'est dans le travail en collaboration que Marie-France se sens le plus dans son élément, là où sa créativité peut se nourrir de différentes visions et approches.

Visitez son Instagram ou encore son site internet pour découvrir d'autres de ses projets.

Découvrez ses créations MERAKI

 

 Marie-Lise Leclerc

 

Marie-Lise Leclerc a commencé sa carrière en tant que designer graphique, avec un gros penchant pour la papeterie, l’édition et l’illustration. Pendant sa grossesse en 2019, elle fait le saut et se concentre sur son entreprise à temps plein.

Marie-Lise est passionnée par l’illustration, qui est pour elle un art accessible qui contribue grandement à vivre dans un monde plus inspirant.

Elle se spécialise dans l’aquarelle, la création de motifs et les produits dérivés (papeterie, textiles, affiches).

Son coeur balance entre l’illustration pour enfants et l’illustration botanique, mais elle réussi souvent à marier les deux pour créer des univers doux et enchanteurs.

Suivez-la sur Instagram pour de la beauté au quotidien.

Découvrez ses créations MERAKI

 

Marish Papaya

Amoureuse de la vie et des gens, Marish sait faire ressortir le beau et surtout le vrai! Artiste humaine au grand cœur, sa sensibilité bien à elle lui permet de saisir l’extraordinaire dans l’ordinaire, le parfait dans l’imparfait, l’amusant dans le banal.

Spécialiste du portrait, à travers les yeux de Marish on se sent spécial ! Son art célèbre l’unicité et la diversité, elle sait sublimer un visage, un chat, un vélo, une paire de bobette ! On aime le second degré de ses créations, lorsqu’elle ajoute sa touche d’humour et son brin de réflexion. Bref, c’est avec bonheur et fierté que nous collaborons avec cette artiste coup de cœur!
Son Instagram regorge de beaux portraits, allez la visiter. 

 

MATEL

MATEL

 

Matel tire son inspiration de la banalité du quotidien, des gens, de la nature, etc…

Le résultat tend toujours vers la caricature

Évoluant dans un univers loufoque, ses personnages de toutes formes et expressions ont chacun leur sens propre.

Le snowboard et le skateboard ont eu une influence majeure sur son éveil au monde de l’art et du design. La plupart de son temps est voué à la peinture, la murale, le dessin et l’illustration pour des clients de différents milieux.

Ses dernières années, il a illustré entre autres pour : Yes snowboards (Switzerland), Rome snowboards (USA), DevGru snowboards (Japan), Fairmont Château Frontenac (Canada), Spy Optics (USA), Vans (USA), De Stefani Winery (ITA) et bien d’autres.

Pour en savoir plus sur Matel, vous pouvez le suivre sur Instagram ou sur Facebook.

Découvrez ses créations MERAKI

 

 

Muya

Muya est le pseudonyme de Myriam Rousseau, une illustratrice d’origine québécoise qui a quitté sa terre natale dès l’âge adulte pour aller étudier les beaux-arts en Espagne et qui demeure présentement en Argentine avec sa famille. 

Amante des moleskines et de la culture hispanique, elle a réussi à combiner ses deux dadas en se promenant dans plusieurs domaines artistiques et différentes villes latines.

Elle a exploré l’industrie des dessins animés en se joignant à un studio d’animation, le graphisme éditorial en travaillant pour une revue d’histoire, le monde du street art en collaborant avec une galerie contemporaine, l’univers du tatouage botanique en étudiant auprès de son mentor, et dernièrement l’art du design textile en inventant des motifs personnalisés.

Tout ce parcours varié a nourri son style et aujourd’hui elle a la chance de vivre de ses illustrations qui puisent ses inspirations dans l’art nouveau, les gravures encyclopédiques, les tatouages old school, les anciens livres pour enfants, les publicités de mode rétro, mais aussi… dans l’imaginaire débordant de sa grande fille de six ans !

Vous pouvez suivre son travail sur Instagram.

Découvrez ses créations MERAKI